The Catholic Diocese of Tombura-Yambio is one of the dioceses in South Sudan, situated in former Western Equatoria State bordering Central African Republic and Democratic Republic of Congo. The jurisdiction of the diocese covers Seven (7) Counties of former Western Equatoria State, namely, Maridi, Ibba, Yambio, Nzara, Ezo, Tombura and Nagero.

Ecclesiastically, the diocese comprises of Twenty Seven (27) parishes which are grouped into Four Deaneries (Western, Mid-Western, Eastern and Central Deaneries). The current population of Catholics is over 1,000,000, constituting over 60% of the total population. The majority of the inhabitants of the region are the Azande, together with other ethnic groups such as Balanda, Baka, Mundu, Muru, Avukaya, among others.

Bishop blessing Palms with Holy Water

Our Vision

Growing in prayer, Making new disciples, Serving the people of Tombura – Yambio with joy

Our Mission

As members of the Body of Christ, the people of the Roman Catholic community of the Tombura – Yambio, diverse but united through Baptism and empowered by the Holy Spirit, nourished by Word and Sacrament, are called to continue the mission of Jesus by being a sign and instrument of God’s kingdom of truth, peace, justice, and love

Core Values

Spirituality and Stewardship –we seek to respond daily to God’s love in gratitude and in prayer, with compassionate service, generous sharing, reconciliation and justice